
Google Chrome Now Requires User Permission for Insecure HTTP Connections
NewsbrowserChromecybersecurityGoogletraffic monitoring
Google has rolled out a change to Chrome that requires users to grant permission before making insecure HTTP connections. This protection is now enabled by default for all Chrome users, following its earlier introduction for users of Safe Browsing's Enhanced Protection mode. According to Google, the vast majority of Chrome connections use HTTPS, but unprotected HTTP traffic can expose users to malware, phishing, eavesdropping, and other threats. The change was implemented in 2026 to enhance user security when browsing websites that do not use encrypted connections.